Edison Names Members of Community Decommissioning Panel

Lisa Bartlett, Tim Brown and Sam Allevato, the mayors of Dana Point, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano, respectively, are among the members of the community engagement panel formed last week to be a part of the decommissioning process of the San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station.

The mayors will be joined by Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees President John Alpay, Orange County Supervisor Pat Bates and Gene Stone, a leader of the local environmental movement and founder of Residents Organized for a Safe Environment.

The group will be chaired by David Victor, an expert in energy markets and a professor at UC San Diego. Other members include Oceanside City Council member Jerome Kern, Valentine Macedo of Laborers International Union of North America Local 89, Gerry Brown of Orange County Coastkeeper, Donna Boston of the Orange County Sheriff’s Department , San Diego County Supervisor Bill Horn and Jim Leach of the South Orange County Economic Coalition. The utilities have also invited representatives of the California State Parks and Camp Pendleton to join the commission, as well as other academics. The two utilities, the majority owners of the plant, announced a set of principles for the decommissioning of the plant, which was shutdown permanently last June.

Among those principles was the creation of the panel, which will meet quarterly. Edison also appointed Chris Thompson, a former chief of staff for Sen. Dianne Feinstein as its vice president of decommissioning. He joined the company last August.

The commission is currently chartered for two years. Edison and SDG&E would then come to a decision about whether to continue. Membership would be limited to six years for any individual member.

via San Clemente Times.